top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAndy Moore

3 cases of mentoring - Interviews

To help with the conclusion of Unit 2, I thought at this point that I would like to investigate the theme of mentoring in a generational sense. I chose 3 candidates, who I believe provide a wide perspective on experiences with mentors. I wanted to hear their experiences and what thoughts they may have to take this project further.


I identified 3 areas of study:


  • Experiencing mentors through childhood

  • Mentoring in the workplace

  • Re-engaging with education through mentorship.



I found these interviews absolutely fascinating. Hearing the perspectives of each interviewee solidified my passion and commitment to this project and to develop my own mentorship platform.


My first interview was with Joe Clements, a 23year old student.

Experiencing mentors through childhood

I’ve been teaching Joe is some capacity for around 5 years now. He has ADHD and has been through the care system and had some tragedies that have occurred in his life. I wanted to speak to him about mentoring through childhood and as to what effect it has had on him. My findings were that although the care system provides many key areas of support there may be room to incorporate some form of “consistent mentor”. Someone that works with the child from the early stages of care right through to adulthood. Joe also brought up some very interesting points about using books as a way to mentor yourself. This self-discipline and self-mentoring worked well for him as it became a form or learning and trust that he could always rely on. Of course books cannot take the place of a mentor but they can certainly work in unison and as a catalyst for the right mentor and area of interest.As the interview went on, I became immensely proud at how Joe has matured into an articulate and thoughtful person. (This wasn’t always the case!) he also talked about how I had helped him develop as a person, which is something I will take far beyond the next few months.


Below are some of the questions I asked Joe.

Tell me a little bit about yourself What age were you when you were put into care?And at times did you feel that you were lacking a mentor in your life?

Do you think having a mentor would contributed to you having a better education?

So you see yourself mentoring other people that may have gone through similar experiences?

What type of mentoring platform would you like to see set up?

How do you feel about online mentoring and in particular celebrity coaching and mentoring?


Elly Wild, Occupational therapist for the N.H.S.

Mentoring in the workplace


Reflections

I wanted to speak to someone who worked for the N.H.S and discuss my theories of mentors and heroes, which had been quite prominent in my research. Elly took me through some leadership techniques, which she believed to be a fundamental requirement of any mentor who leads a team. It was interesting finding out what worked differently in other professions. It was also an insight into people emotions when they are pushed to the limit. She spoke about people clapping for the N.H.S. and what it meant for her. This supports my notion that perhaps there is movement for a new type of mentor and hero. Someone with a backstory of good and who has the ability to give correct and unbiased advice and guidance. Do mentors respond differently when they are under pressure. Do they have time to commit to others? I also had to consider that I was taking Elly's time up during a very busy period for the N.H.S. This played on my mind a little. I'm hoping in some ways, it may have been a cathartic experience to talk to me too and a way of offloading some of her concerns.


Questions for Elly.

Can you tell us a little bit about what job you do Elly?

What do you think are the most important qualities for someone to excel in this role?

Can you give me an example over the past few weeks where you’ve felt the most proudest and when you have felt low.How has your role changed at all from 3 months ago?

Is there anything further that you feel the government could implement to ease this crisis?How do you feel at 8pm every Thursday?

Do you consider yourself and your colleagues heroes?What do you think others who do see you as heroes?


My 3rd interview was with Si Andrews - A new teacher who had recently engaged with education in his late 40's.

Re-engaging with education through mentorship.



Reflection

Because we are a similar age and in the same profession I had a more laid back approach with my interviewing techniques. I wanted to speak to Si and to establish why he got back into education to complete his degree 2 years ago. I wasn't expecting some of the answers he gave me. He told me that he had met a mentor while he was working at an I.T. company and that this person was a former teacher who was working there, part time. It was this chance meeting that led Si to go back into education. The interesting part of the interview was for me that Si admitted that if he had of met this mentor years earlier he might have re-engaged earlier with education. This led to me thinking that we are all a little guilty sometimes of waiting for things to come to us. Sometimes it is these chance meetings that can make all the difference. Is there a way we can create our own points on a map rather than waiting for someone else to plot our co-ordinates?


These interviews were really helpful for me.

I talked to three different individuals who had all had different experiences of being a mentor or mentee. What struck me about all 3 were, that they are all quite driven people and had led quite unique lives. It is easy to associate mentoring with the very vulnerable. I shall not make that mistake.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page