top of page
Search

Personal Reflection

I have given everything.

My heart, my soul and my time have gone into my M.A. in Applied Imagination. I feel I have satisfied the learning outcomes and gone way beyond my learning edges.


Never have I looked forward so much to completing something yet feeling more melancholic as the day for submission draws nearer and nearer.


Throughout my learning log, I have not only reflected on the impact of my interventions and stakeholders, I have also tried to where I can assess the impact it has had on my personally.

On most entries, I have collected my thoughts and experiences and reflected on how I could change the composition, or at least played with the colour palette.


BELOW - REFLECTIVE EXAMPLES, FOUND THROUGHOUT MY LEARNING LOG.



Since the beginning of the course, I have tried my very best in giving a good account of myself both personally and professionally. I was nominated by my group to become one of the course representatives and have taken leadership on our Digital Festival. I like to think that I have been an attentive and thoughtful course representative, and have always provided a shoulder to cry on when things got a little rough.


There’s nothing much more to say about Covid-19. All of us have been affected in different ways. Many of us have conquered the disruption and that is something to feel incredibly proud about. Even in reconsidering these events, I cannot but help feel emotional. Finding time between being a teacher, parent and student was incredibly difficult. During lockdown I did not see my teenage daughter for over 5 months and dark clouds seemed to loom over the skies I looked out upon. In many ways my work kept me going and gave me something to concentrate on, and with the help of my family I have come through it. We will all look back I am sure on this uncertain passage in life, which contributed so much to our growth. resilience and strength.


My family albeit small are at the heart of what I do. Without the support of my wife, I’m not sure I would have made it. She has offered me her ear on many occasions and I will be forever grateful to her for that. There have been some very difficult periods during lockdown, where my small son was desperately wanting to play outside. All I could think about was him and the long-term impact it may have on him. He is a single child and I felt that he was going through his own form of isolation. There have been times that I have felt helpless. I’m very much looking forward to being able to spend more time with him once the course comes to an end. At times, I have had to leave him to concentrate on my M.A. project or prepare lessons for my classes. I’m hoping that the guilt begins to dissipate over the next few months.


I feel I’ve supported the tutors and can understand that the role of institution cannot always get it right, during times where we have no compass. I’ve said to many of my students and colleagues that should we get through this it will be a remarkable feat.


This project has made me re-examine my role as a Father, Husband and mentor and how I am neither the beginning or end of something but rather I am part of the loop. The continuous circle where knowledge, skill and compassion are attained.


And so, I come to this intersection of my work, with the production of a short children’s book. A book that will act as a free resource and a foundation for me to work with. I am not stopping now. Unit 3 will act as a template, to understand that the process cannot always run smoothly. It will enable me to accept disappointment with a thicker skin. It will be a key reference point for me in moving onto the next leg.


Through a book launch at Guille-Alles Library and working with associated charities, such as Families need Fathers, I hope that these series of projected books, will be a helpful asset to parents and children within the Guernsey community and beyond. Many Fathers from around the world have reached out to me. It is my hope that by mentoring them through the process of separation and other such trauma, I can help reduce the pain and suffering that adults can feel but also help support and nurture the children.


Throughout, this course, I have been provocative with my interventions and meticulous in my approach and will use my new knowledge to pursue rewarding ventures. It has given me a platform to become a children’s author and supporter of parent’s rights, which encapsulates all the themes that have been threaded through this project. This research and consolidation of ideas has given me everything and more. Journeys are all about discovery and I’ve certainly enjoyed the scenery along the way. This has been an incredible period in my life and I look forward to the new adventures ahead.


I thank you all for keeping me safe along the way.


Andy










13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page