top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAndy Moore

Copilot mentoring

Updated: Apr 11, 2020



Copilot mentoring, according to business expert Anthony Tjan, in the scheme of mentoring is being able to support each other often when the working on similar projects and when thoughts and ideas can be reciprocated.




As Tjan puts it, “you are peers committed to supporting each other, collaborating with each other, and holding each other accountable. And when you have a copilot, both the quality of your work and your engagement level improve.”


When I first met Rajinder it was at the beginning of our first group project together entitled ‘the journey’. I had, what I thought was a great idea of using audio and the rest of the group were very enthusiastic that we should continue that route. There was one small problem. As we were about to embark onto the next stage, a little voice popped up with a few points on why we should possibly choose a different idea. This little voice turned out to be Rajinder’s. I must confess at the time that I was annoyed by Rajinder’s doubts as I wanted to make a strong start to the project. Within 20 minutes we had chosen a different idea! I did go home thinking that perhaps Rajinder may not be a team player. Why was she deliberately trying to put a fly in the ointment? Of course on reflection and many months of working with Rajinder on various projects, I understand now that Rajinder wasn’t trying to alienate me or try to slow the project down, she was merely questioning the validity of the concept and to push us all to perhaps think of the alternatives. The group in the end created a film where Rajinder and I had crucial roles. It worked out brilliantly but I still think we should have chosen the audio!


Early on on the course Rajinder and I became the course representatives, where we were able to take forward and listen to any developments and issues on the course. During this dual role, I feel I became closer to Rajinder and this was exacerbated whilst working on projects with the full timers on the course.


Rajinder has been a great deal of support to me over this past year. She had kept me going and listened to my ideas as I have done likewise. I take great satisfaction in being able to copilot and mentor a fellow applied imagination student.

We speak weekly and give each other ideas and thoughts on how we can take our projects forward.

I’m really looking forward to what Rajinder does next in life.


She is a charming and hardworking individual who is stronger than she thinks. When I got married last August she made a point of being in some wine and chocolates which I thought was very thoughtful. She had been an invaluable source for me to rely on and has given me a lend of the positive energy that she often exudes.


Thank you Rajinder, for being a great friend and being my copilot throughout this journey.



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page