top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAndy Moore

'Those who want to, can'. - Dennis Balls - My mentor. - Intervention 5.

I’ve talked about this extensively throughout my project, particularly in my film “the change I want to see”.

In short Mr. Balls was a former Headmaster of the Guernsey grammar school who encouraged me to go back to school and study. I was 18 and was going in no particular direction until I met him. It was a pure co-incidence that I ended up meeting him and he allowed me to go to the Grammar School to do some A Levels.





I decided that I needed to reach out and try to contact Mr. Balls. In truth I was worried he may have passed away and I was very apprehensive in upsetting any relatives he may have had.

I put a post out on social media and here are some of the responses I received…



After publishing my question, I was informed by several people that he had passed away.

I felt very sad at this news and regretted not letting him no earlier. A few minutes later I was informed by a private message that in fact Dennis was very much alive! I was inquisitive to why, so many people think he had passed away. Is this what retirement does for you? Out of sight, out of mind?


On this particular day I was having a few issues at work and I was writing some emotive emails in connection with my project. Maybe I need to find a clearer work/project balance.

I was kindly given his home address and intend to write to him in the next few days.

I will post a response if I do indeed get one on my blog.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page