top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAndy Moore

Formulating my Hypothesis / Research

Updated: Apr 27, 2020


Over the course of this unit, I have grappled with the notion that I wasn't doing anything spectacular with it.


The subject of mentoring and choosing one's heroes was of course a very passionate and emotive subject for me to choose. I am also currently a teacher, so at the time it made incredible sense for me to start digging around in this part of the garden. What could I uncover about myself, my past and what tools could I improve to perhaps make me a better educator. The area of mentoring was an easy devision to make.


Of course, through different research methods and my interventions the scope and nature of my questions have changed, often in a direction that has caused me great alarm. There have been times where my research has opened up other threads of interest and I was not always sure that I would find the way back to the path I had begun on. Maybe I haven't. The point is that my learning and investigations have supplemented and enhanced This early holistic and intrinsic approach has now turned into a more methodical and formulated hypothesis culminating in a clearer direction in both my learning and the constructed points of mentoring that I want to make.


Primarily I have used qualitative research over past few weeks and plan to introduce more quantitative methods in the coming week before I submit my latest hypothesis for the conclusion of Unit 2.

There has often been crossover in my collection of qualitative research and that is clearly evidenced in my learning log and previous work on mentors and mentees. I have obviously submitted case studies, interviews and collected a variety of different data through my observations and thoughts on what I believe makes for a truly great mentor. These non-numerical interventions has shaped and nurtured my own ideology on the subject.


Over the next week, I will be embarking upon more quantitative research methods. I will do this by examining and dissecting some of my analysis so far and developing a questionnaire. This can be done through a form of different research methods:


  • Simple random sampling: A specific demographic to only take part in the survey. 

  • Systematic random sampling: To be selected from selected demographic and framework

  • Stratified random sampling: This will be broken down into smaller subgroups such as age, gender, location etc.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page