top of page
Search

Guernsey questionnaire


Guernsey Questionnaire

(Developing a mentoring scheme to enable Guernsey students to enhance U.K. education)

Questions below:

1. Would you have benefitted from such a scheme?

2. Did you have any one to mentor you, other than family and friends?

3. Where there times where you felt you really could have used someone’s advice?

4. Do you feel this scheme is needed?

5. Do you feel this scheme would have improved your overall grade / experience?

6. Do you feel former Alumni are sufficiently recognised in Guernsey?

7. Was it important for you to stay close to home. i.e. Bournemouth, Southampton?

8. Are there any mentors or coaches in Guernsey that you don’t feel get the recognition they deserve? (This doesn’t have to be any one that has huge education clout – I just mean any unsung heroes?

Resident 1:

1. Possibly – As I don’t feel I had much help.

2. No, I didn’t have any mentor type people at this time, this could have helped me.

3. Yes, Guernsey grants didn’t even cover rent so I had to work full time (30 hours) and study. I would have liked help on that.

4. Possibly, may be something useful for the summer before and first term if uni. And possibly during dissertation time

5. Not certain, my grade was where it was due to having to work when uk students did not need to

6. No

7. No, I went to Winchester but that was due to the course, only three uk units did it.

8. Unknown

Resident 2:

Would you have benefited from such a scheme? - Yes, especially with accommodation and rent etc

2. Did you have any one to mentor you, other than family and friends? No

3. Where there times where you felt you really could have used someone’s advice? Yes, moving away from home can be daunting, especially moving to London

4. Do you feel this scheme is needed? I am not sure I would use the word "needed" but it would definitely be beneficial to some people

5. Do you feel this scheme would have improved your overall grade / experience? In my case I doubt it would have improved my grade as it was a specialized degree and I am not sure anyone else in the Channel Islands has done it. If I had known there may be contacts close by or people who knew the area it would have helped the experience.

6. Do you feel former Alumni are sufficiently recognised in Guernsey? A difficult question given my point in Q5, I do like the press section for people who had obtained a degree. Perhaps a website could list Alumni and there institution/grade/qualification if people were willing

7. Was it important for you to stay close to home. i.e. Bournemouth, Southampton? I was in North London, Flights were easy home but the transport to the airport took some getting used to.

8. Are there any mentors or coaches in Guernsey that you don’t feel get the recognition they deserve? (This doesn’t have to be any one that has huge education clout – I just mean any unsung heroes? Not that spring to mind, Guernsey is however a little bubble and I definitely feel some people arent aware of the knowledge or skills available locally in various forms.

Resident 3

My parents moved me over to the UK and stayed with me for the first night in a B&B then stayed a couple of extra nights in the city I went to. They made sure I was settled into halls of residence and off they went. I remember crying myself to sleep on the first night they were gone! I was used to the UK because my parents are from there, I had family on the mainland, all be it a couple of hours away. Being in the UK wasn’t too strange but it was still a huge adjustment having to live there. I went to Winchester and lots of Guerns go there which hugely helped. We kinda stuck together! I found adjusting to uni life quite easy and I made good friends with my housemates and would go home with them at weekends to their families. I only came back to Guernsey in the holidays which I think actually made it easier. If I’d have been backwards and forwards I don’t think I’d have settled. All in all, uni were some of the best years of my life. I adored it and worked hard but played harder, decent nightclubs and cheap booze at long last!! I learned a lot of my life lessons at uni and found it much better than school. I hope that helps but if you want any other info please let me know.

Resident 4

1.Would you have benefitted from such a scheme? – Yes I feel I did it all myself at times

2. Did you have any one to mentor you, other than family and friends? I was a single mum and had to rely on myself. At times I felt like giving up.

3. Where there times where you felt you really could have used someone’s advice? – Absolutely but there isn’t anything really in place in Guernsey

4. Do you feel this scheme is needed? – For sure.

5. Do you feel this scheme would have improved your overall grade / experience?

6. Do you feel former Alumni are sufficiently recognised in Guernsey? It is sometime sprinted in the Press.

7. Was it important for you to stay close to home. i.e. Bournemouth, Southampton?

8. Are there any mentors or coaches in Guernsey that you don’t feel get the recognition they deserve? (This doesn’t have to be any one that has huge education clout – I just mean any unsung heroes? Guernsey has a lot of heroes but people can also be quite narrow minded over here.

1.Would you have benefitted from such a scheme? – Yes, the Island needs closer connections to the U.K. and this could help

2. Did you have any one to mentor you, other than family and friends? Mostly just family and friends

3. Where there times where you felt you really could have used someone’s advice? – I had family and friends but no-one that I could continue to rely on.

4. Do you feel this scheme is needed? – It would be good to get some funding so that people have some help in the future

5. Do you feel this scheme would have improved your overall grade / experience? I’m not sure as I really worked hard on my degree.

6. Do you feel former Alumni are sufficiently recognised in Guernsey?

Nothing in general is set up, it would be good to know who did what.

Results below:

I was quite disappointed to the survey I put out as a lot of people messages me and confirmed that there isn’t such a scheme but only a few people responded back with definitive answers. Some very interested and gave their time as they want to make the journey better for future students. Only 7 answered in the end. There was only a small window for them to do this. I was worried that this questionnaire was too similar to the one I did on Unit 1.

The results did conform though that Guernsey does require a mentoring scheme to help the transition of education from Guernsey to the U.K. There is clear evidence though that Guernsey needs a mentoring platform and everyone who answered the questionnaire answered 100% on question 1.

It also suggests that there needs to be more recognition for former alumni. This could also help with tourism for Guernsey. Something to consider.


I did consider leaving this survey out as it was a last minute addition to my research as my project literally exploded over the last few days. This is just an indication of what the people of Guernsey, who have gone through this journey make of the support network. This opens up my research for a wider audience and a secondary questionnaire.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page