top of page
Search

My Project & the Digital Festival - The symmetry of both worlds

Updated: Sep 4, 2020



Ever since meeting Richard, (which seems like a lifetime ago now) he told me about the Festival and what the expectations were for the students. This really excited me as I love the buzz and atmosphere of an event where we are all able to look at each others work in closer detail. I remember going online and looking at what other students had done before me and hearing all of the interesting questions that were put before me. This is a year of intense reflection. Of course it will be different this year but we will give it a really good go to make it and I will do everything I can to make it a success.


We are a few weeks down the line now and I'm slightly concerned that not everyone is going to get involved. I am more than happy to take a lead on it but I want everyone to have their say. We have another meeting on the 1st September before we meet Richie the following day.


I wanted to share this post to talk to talk about the symmetry between my project and the festival this year. There is a real sense of empathy. The common theme that issue clear is empathy. I knew as soon as I suggested the idea of Empathy - walking in another shoes that there would be clear parallels between the festival and my own work. In mentoring, you are almost retaking that journey that a mentor has already done - you are following in the footsteps of that person. With the festival it has a slightly different meaning in that we may not want to undertake a journey of what it is like to walk in another mans shoes but in order for our own understanding of this world, it is something we need to do. I will have to strike a good balance between the two worlds. Richie did pick up on our group meeting that it is easy to get sidetracked by the festival and to not remain focussed on the task at hand.


You could argue that many of the words I have included could all be synonymous with each other, however there are a few minor differentiations between the two. For example the word 'togetherness' could be associated with a mentor and a mentee but it is in my opinion that although there is a collaboration between the two it is almost solely dependant on how much individual responsibility it takes from each party. There are a few variables within my Venn diagram by again there is plenty to suggest the there are also many similarities in each world.


Completing this Venn diagram has made it easier for me establish what elements I need to concentrate on for each aspect of the work. I really want to make sure that we put on a fantastic festival but own project is nearing the end and it is so important to me that I stay on track and maintain the clear direction I have at the moment. It is nothing I am unduly worried about however as due to the symmetry of the two, I feel really excited about the opportunities ahead.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page