top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAndy Moore

Research methodologies used so far.


I really feel that throughout my journey on this course, I have used an eclectic and diverse collection of research methods. At the beginning of this course, I was not aware of all the research terminology and would often shift focus from one element of my project to the other. This is something I have improved upon.



What has aided my research?


If I were to give myself one pice of advice before I started this course, it would be to be more methodical in my approach to research. I was an 'instinctive learner' and sought a variety of different answers before I even discovered what the questions were. Over the course of unit 2, I have improved on this and there are several things that have helped me achieve this.



1. Since UNIT 2 began, I have done a LOT more reading on different research methodologies.

I always considered myself to be a visual learner. An observer to innovative acts. One book that has been incredibly useful to me is is 'The craft of research'. I know that this is a tried and tested book for many but it's really worked for me. My mind can often wonder and I do feel that this book has helped me discover a clear and methodical approach in which to move my theories and hypothesis forward.


2. Attending every class and collecting research notes has been invaluable. There has not been one session that I have left and gone home, where I thought I hadn't learnt something. The only one I can think of is where we constructed lego with Richard but this is probably one lesson that I reflect on, not only with fondness but also on how I construct my thoughts and ideas. It also gave me confidence from a purely hands on approach.


  • Interventions / experiments

  • Surveys (during Mirror, Mirror and Golden Bough assignments)

  • Case studies (Mirror Mirror assignment)

  • Questionnaires (Mirror, Mirror assignment

  • Interviews. (Mirror Mirror / The change I want to see.

  • Participant and non-participant observation

  • Studies using the Delphi method.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page