top of page
Search

Stripping it back


During my last tutorial Elizabeth suggested creating a new mind map, to almost reaqainte myself with my original concept. Although the thought had crossed my mind - I kept putting it off as I wasn't sure how much value I would get from it.


I set myself an afternoon, to establish why I had chosen mentoring and try and unpick a few ideas from a back catalogue of research and theories. I was really surprised with what came out. It reminded me of why some novelists write all of their ideas down on paper and not on a computer; the reason being that perhaps in some ways those early scribbles with lines marked through them may create some echo to re-ignite a once thrown away idea.


Emotional context.

Doing this stirred up a lot of feelings in connection to what I'm trying to do. This is a very personal project and at times, I have doubted myself and where I was trying to lead my work, however I felt creating this mind map pushed the reset button in some ways. It also demonstrated to me how much I have put into this course. I hope I achieve a goof grade but at least I know I will walk away with my head held high knowing that I gave all of my efforts and time (when permittable) to give everything I can to either process professionally or to make a difference to others.


Powerful impact

What amazed me, was the convergence and cross over of some of my ideas. Having them written down in from of me, was like turning on a light. All of a sudden I started connecting themes and from those theme clearer ideas and thoughts were introducing themselves into the project. I write a hell of a lot of lists, which has helped me with my studies and now with this mind-map I was able to navigate my way around new avenues of research and conclusions .


Actions

I now intend to explore some themes that I had initial discussed in other work but had somehow managed to not make the final page. Due to the creation of this mind-map I could see how much the project had loved and indeed changed to to the nature of current events and how other sub projects had led me.

All of this just through one mind-map. I had presumed that I would retain all of the knowledge throughout the duration of this project, how wrong I was. Going forward I will not (or at least try my best not to) allow this to happened again.









1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page