top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAndy Moore

My mini-film - Technically speaking

Updated: Apr 12, 2020



As with most film shoots, (Big or small) this took a lot longer than I had planned.


Firstly, I decided to do a podcast but this quickly evolved by adding visuals and titles.

I had recorded some videos over the past few months, which I thought may work well in terms of my project. I also wanted to demonstrate a more professional aesthetic and knew I would not be able to get this through my video recordings. I wanted to push myself technically so decided to hire a Sony FS7 and H6 sound recorder and away I went. I have used different formats of cameras before but a lot of this was very knew to me. I didn’t really know much about lenses and found myself wasting a lot of time by not being knowledgeable enough to know which one I needed for each particular shot.


The 2nd mistake I made was filming in low light, which subsequently made me have to do a few shots the following day. For audio I used a Zoom H6. Again, I was not so familiar with this kit but soon found my way around it. I did some research into voice overs and realised on Premiere pro that you can use a ‘broadcast filter’. This gave my production I feel a more Radio / TV friendly feel.




As you can see from some of the pictures, my son was heavily involved with these scenes. I don’t want to eek this point out but it was great doing something with him where I felt creative. It felt like a full circle was being completed. He even had a go on the camera too!


I’m pleased with the results and I have definitely learnt from some of the mistakes I have made. Noticeably with the lighting and lens choices. Part of my time over the next few weeks will be spent on the technical aspects of what I want to achieve.


It's very important for me to create a technically flawless end product. Without this it may lose peoples attention.


I’ve now sent the intro to a few people to gain some feedback. It will be interesting to hear what they say.


I await the results.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page