top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAndy Moore

The importance of supporting peers

Reflections:

It is very, very important that I support my classmates.

There are several reasons why this is a positive for me.


I am able to gauge my work and compare my process in how I go about things and how I conduct my own work and I in turn can get support and understanding from my classmates too. .

These workshops can be a real confidence builder and acts as a great motivator to driving yourself forward.

It has been a privilege in being able to watch Rajinders concept to where it is now. Those initial fleeting ideas to the tangible and solid project it is today.


As I have mentioned in previous posts, Rajinder and I have supported each other throughout the who course. Today, Rajinder held an online workshop revolving around her project FOOD:CONNECT.

Rajinder wanted us to produce a 'zine' with our spice and recipe.


Below are my results.




It's a really interesting concept, looking into spices and culture and how they can bring us all together through storytelling. The workshop involved us having to share a story about a spice and we had to create a short 'zine' to conclude the lesson. I've said before that one of the best things about this course is that I have learnt so much from other peoples cultures.


What unfolded:

I shared my story with Sidra and Rajinder and the latter picked up on a couple of thoughts that I put forward in that I suggested that for my upbringing, I didn't really spend too much time around the dinner table with my family, unlike Sidra who spends two hours when having a big family dinner. This demonstrated the differences in not only parenting but in how we eat our food and how we connect with 'family'. Rajinder is always honest in praising someone of they can contribute to her concept. She comes up with some nay great Idas.


I really enjoyed the workshop as it evoked feelings I had as a child when I remembered tasting Guernsey Gache for the first time (it includes nutmeg) We had a very open discussion and I also learnt a few new things about each other and how our projects are developing. (I learnt how to create a zine! Sidra also participated and it was also a nice way of relaxing and catching up. I very much enjoyed the storytelling aspect. There were a few points during the workshop where all of our projects aligned and converged and I found the fascinating.


I was also required to do some more drawings and it's perhaps it's just as well that I'm not illustrating my own work! Although there is still time to pick up some new skills and knowledge.


I have missed the interaction with my classmates and I will miss it even more when the course concludes. I'm hoping that some of us can create positive working relationships in the future.








1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page