top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAndy Moore

Using mementos for positive change


During my last tutorial Elizabeth Wright spoke about using world developments to possibly shape my project. I am aware that due to coronavirus my work has had to circumnavigate in some ways many issues that I didn't think I would face. We are also on a wave of great positive change with B.L.M. and these events have certainly made me rethink what the purpose of a mentor is.


I have spoken in the group many times about how much I have learnt from others in my class. From the pacy vibrancy of L.A. to the rituals of Pakistan, one of the best things for me is discovering more about different cultures. Perhaps this is something I could work into my project. It got me thinking that in being part of something - gave me a sense of a lot of pride. If I do achieve my M.A. it will mean that I have done so throughout very trying circumstances. If I do graduate and receive a certificate, it will be something to cherish and look back upon.


In discussing these issues with a student engagement officer at my work, I suggested the idea of pins / badges as a reward for students that have done so incredibly well during this pandemic. It's made me analyse what "small increments" can mean by means of incorporating it into a mentorship scheme.


I begun the task of designing some badges and the feedback from my work has been very positive.

I like the idea of unity through mentoring and using positive symbols to create and build on existing learning. I think it would be a great memento to keep.


My process:



Almost immediately, I had tow ideas for an incentive pin / badge. One was a padlock being smashed and another of a compass. I decided I would try some initial drawings for the smashed padlock idea. Although quite crude they show my intentions.

I sent them to back to the student engagement officer and she showed the team - they really like them and asked me to create digital design. I've documented here my designs so far.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page